This much I know about…the pain of ignoring the evidence and guessing instead

Nice way of putting a rather brutal point!

johntomsett

I have been a teacher for 27 years, a Headteacher for 13 years and, at the age of 51, this much I know about the pain of ignoring the evidence and guessing instead.

golf-driver-swing-1_cyxpxe

When it came to golf, I completed all of Gladwell’s 10,000 hours of practice and more. I always blamed those hours for my sloping shoulders; my left shoulder is 4 inches higher than its right-sided counterpart. What else could explain my minor physical deformity? I would stand in front of audiences and convince them that my odd shoulders were certain proof that I knew what it meant to work hard to be good at something: tangible evidence of my very own growth mindset.

I love it when I encounter a genuine expert. Yesterday I had my first session with Dr Paul Stick, a chiropractor. He diagnosed in seconds that I had a (slight) double curvature…

View original post 351 more words

Leave a Reply

